Alone

I am not in the mood to speak to anyone.

It seems like the words that protrude, from their mouths seems so crude,

I don’t mean to be rude,

But I rather be alone, and lost in my thoughts – alone.

I know they reach out because they care,

But can’t they see that I rather be rare.

A rare animal left on its own, away from the world.

Not locked in a cage they have asked it to call home.

I don’t need to belong.

I don’t want to be seen in the state that I’m in – alone.

I rather be away from this place, away from the people who care, who leave me to wear.

My head hurts.

My heart hurts.

It’s been bruised and confused, and I stand here bemused, because I caused it.

I take my punishment like anyone should…

I want to be alone.

My heart crunches.

With every heart beat, my blood boils within me.

My mind is on replay.

It replays every last moment, it harbours of us. It places that in mind – and my heart beings to cry,

Because it has been hurt.

I have been hurt.

I laid myself bare, no boundaries, no care.

Because of him.

So now,

As I am locked in the confines of my mind, with my heart that cries,

I want to be seule.*

Georgette Monnou ©

*Seule – alone in French

Standard

Leave a Reply

